We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

Geothermal Workshop in La Araucanía Region

(CEGA, October 30, 2017) With the aim of bringing geothermal energy closer to school communities loc...

Read more

CEGA will heat school with geothermal

(CEGA, October 20th) CEGA obtained a grant from the Innovation Fund for Competitiveness in the regio...

Read more

About Us

CEGA is a Fondap-Conicyt project that began operations during the first half of 2011.  CEGA comprises a team of researchers from the Faculty of Physical and Mathematical Sciences at the University of Chile, with scientists from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile and other international institutions. Its five main research fields are: Heat Sources; Fluid and Isotopic Geochemistry; Heat-Fluid-Rock Interaction; Structural Controls and Geophysics; Reservoir architecture and Modelling.

Mission

At the Andean Geothermal Center of Excellence we work to generate and improve geothermal knowledge in Chile. Our mission is to develop geothermal energy as a sustainable, environmentally friendly and economically competitive resource in order to contribute to the energy requirements in Chile and the Andean countries.

History

The Andean Geothermal Center of Excellence (CEGA) is funded by CONICYT FONDAP Program. CEGA is located at the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences of the University of Chile and comprises a team of researchers from the University of Chile, along with scientists from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile and other international institutions.

After the first five-year period (2011-2015), CEGA obtained FONDAP Program funds to continue operations for five years more (2016-2020). In this new stage, we will focus our efforts in the following goals:

  • Establish a comprehensive geological model for the Andean geothermal systems.
  • Form highly trained professionals in basic and applied research in geothermal energy.
  • Promote national and international networking with other world-class research centers.
  • Increase public awareness and promote geothermal as a renewable, clean and alternative energy.
  • Incorporate applied sciences and engineering.

Diego Morata

dmorata@ing.uchile.cl

Director Heat-fluid-rock interaction research line

Miguel Ángel Parada

maparada@cec.uchile.cl

Deputy Director Heat sources research line

Martin Reich

mreich@cec.uchile.cl

Principal Researcher Fluid Geochemistry research line.

José Miguel Cembrano

jcembrano@ing.puc.cl

Principal Researcher Structural & Geophysics research line

Linda Daniele

ldaniele@ing.uchile.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Gloria Arancibia

garancibia@ing.puc.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Fernando Barra

fbarrapantoja@ing.uchile.cl

Fluid and Isotopic Geochemistry

Claudia Cannatelli

ccannatelli@ing.uchile.cl

Heat Sources

Angelo Castruccio

acastruc@ing.uchile.cl

Heat Sources

Daniel Díaz

ddiaz@dgf.uchile.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Sara Elgueta

saelgueta@ing.puc.cl / selgueta11@gmail.com

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Domingo Mery

domingomery@gmail.com

Structural & Geophysics

Francisco Suárez

fsuarez@ing.puc.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Álvaro Valencia

alvalenc@ing.uchile.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Andrés Veloso

eaveloso@gmail.com

Structural & Geophysics

Emilio Vera

evera@dgf.uchile.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Luis Vargas

luis.vargas@die.uchile.cl

Satellite projects

Gonzalo Yáñez

gyanez@ing.puc.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Manuel Díaz

mdiaz@centroenergia.cl

Álvaro Amigo

alvaro.amigo@sernageomin.cl

Heat Sources

Diego Aravena

daravena@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects (direct use)

Jamie Buscher

jbuscher@ing.uchile.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Karin García

kgarcia@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects

Mathieu Leisen

mleisen@ing.uchile.cl

Fluid and Isotopic Geochemistry

Rodrigo Maripangui

rmaripangui@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects (Direct Use)

Mauricio Muñoz

maumunoz@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects (Direct Use)

Sofia Vargas

sofiangeles@gmail.com

Human, social and cultural dimensions of geothermal energy

Daniele Tardani

tardaniele@gmail.com

(Español) Pablo Sánchez-Alfaro

(Español) pablo.sanchez@uach.cl

Felipe Aron

felipearon.m@gmail.com

Benigno Godoy

bgodoyn@gmail.com

Juvenal Letelier

juvesrocks.es@gmail.com

Santiago Maza

santiagomaz@gmail.com

Saskia Roels

saskiaroels@hotmail.com

Carolina Muñoz

carolimunoz@gmail.com

EDUARDO MOLINA

(Español) emolinapiernas@gmail.com

(Español) JAIME ARAYA

(Español) jaaraya@ing.uchile.cl

Investigador PostDoctoral

(Español) Christian Betancourt

(Español) chris.betanco@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante Doctorado en Ciencias (Geología) - Universidad de Chile

Gerd Sielfeld

gsielfeld@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante Doctorado en Ciencias de la Ingeniería - Pontificia Universidad Católica

Ornella Saltori

o.saltori@gmail.com

Magmatic processes associated with the 1960 and 2011 eruptions at Cordon Caulle volcano

José Tomás Ovalle

jtomas.ovalle@gmail.com

Génesis de los Depósitos de Hierro-Apatito Tipo Kiruna en el norte de Chile, y sus conexiones con de depósitos de IOCG y sistemas geotermales superficiales

Italo Payacán

ipayacan@gmail.com

" Factores condicionantes para el emplazamiento de reservorios de magma someros: Caso del Plutón La Gloria y San Gabriel "

Anneli Grammusset

agramusset@gmail.com

"Hidrogeología y estructura termal de la cuenca de Santiago mediante simulaciones numéricas"

Pablo Molina

pablogmc@gmail.com

Origen y emplazamiento de plutones andinos en ambientes contrastantes

Camila Pineda

camilap@ug.uchile.cl

Geocronología y petrogénesis de grandes erupciones piroclásticas cuaternarias de Chile central

Javier Reyes

jareyes@ing.uchile.cl

Geocronología y petrogénesis del volcanismo intraplaca de la Dorsal de Juan Fernández

Estefanía Camus

estefaniacamus@gmail.com

Minerales de alteración como indicadores de circulación de fluidos en el sistema geotermal Licancura, Región de Tarapacá, Chile

Tomás Roquer

teroquer@uc.cl

Structural permeability within Fractured Geothermal System: one example from Southern Volcanic Zone

Rodrigo Gomila

ragomila@uc.cl

Naturaleza de la Propagación de Fallas y Migración de Fluidos en Sistemas de Fallas de Rumbo en la Corteza Continental Media y Superior

Matias Taucare

matias.taucare@gmail.com

Fuentes termales San Felipe-Los Andes

Marcela Pizarro

mconsuelo.pp@gmail.com

Caracterización de la evolución de los volátiles del volcán Lastarria, Zona Volcánica Central de los Andes, Chile

Valentina Reyes

valentina.reyes@ug.uchile.cl

Estudio a escala regional del sistema volcánico de la Laguna del Maule, utilizando el método magnetotelurico.

María Angélica Contreras

mariange.contreras@gmail.com

Influence of magmatic system properties on the construction of volcanic edifices: Case study of Lascar, Lonquimay and Lllaima volcanoes

Nelson Román

nelson.roman.m@gmail.com

Geoquímica de sulfuros en sistemas geotermales

Viviana Pedroza

viviana.pedroza@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

Mario Persico

mcaa.mario07@gmail.com

Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

Rayen Gho

gho.rayen@gmail.com

Holocene eruptions from Michimahuida and Chaiten volcanoes: eruptive parameters and storage conditions

Angello Negri

anegri.024@gmail.com

Hidrogeoquímica Aysén

Bárbara Ruiz

bruiz@ing.uchile.cl

Geochronological and geochemical modeling of Porcelana Geysers, Los Lagos District, Chile

Benjamin Arias

benjaminarias02@gmail.com

Estratigrafía, sedimentología y geocronología de las Formaciones: Pajonales, Naranja y Loma Amarilla, entre los 24° y 24°30', Antofagasta.

Bernardita Alvear

balvear@ug.uchile.cl berny.alal@gmail.com

Trace elements in silica minerals: tracking hydrothermal fluid evolution in geothermal systems

Camila Leal

c.leal.m@hotmail.com

Condiciones físicas de formación de lavas holocenas del Volcán Lanín

Camila Vera

cveravidal@gmail.com

Analogue experiments of lava flows: Influence of variations of effusion rate and cooling and application to Isluga volcano

Carolina Geoffroy

caro.geoffroy@gmail.com

Recent eruptions from Melimoyu volcano: Insights into its magmatic system

Christian Pizarro

christian.jpa@gmail.com

PRE-ERUPTIVE CONDITIONS OF HISTORIC ERUPTIONS OF VILLARRICA VOLCANO (CHILEAN SOUTHERN ANDES)

David Calisto

dcalisto@ing.uchile.cl

Simulación númerica de fluidos con aplicación a Sistemas Geotermales Activos y Fósiles

Diego Naranjo

diego.naranjo.m@gmail.com

Aplicación de métodos electromagnéticos para caracterizar el sistema geotermal en el entorno del volcán San José, región Metropolitana, Chile

Germain Rivera

germain.rivera@enel.com

Evolución vulcanológica y tectónica del area del Cordón Volcánico Cerro del Azufre - Cerro de Inicaliri y su relación con el Sistema geotérmico de Pampa Apacheta, II Región de Antofagasta, Chile.

Giselle Placencia

giselle.placenciam@gmail.com

Aguas Termales y desarrollo socioeconomico

Huber Rivera

huber.rivera@ing.uchile.cl

Insight into the Tectonostratigraphic Evolution of the Magallanes Basin, Southern Chile, during the Cenozoic.

Renzo Mancini

rmancinidb@gmail.com

Modelamiento tridimensional del sistema volcánico Paniri-Toconce, mediante el uso de Magnetotelurica

Ignacio Villalón

ivillalon@ug.uchile.cl

Modelación de sistemas hidrotermales andinos fuertemente controlados por la estructura: el caso de un paleo-sistema volcánico geotermal en la formación Cura-Mallín

Josefa Sepúlveda

jbsepulveda@uc.cl

Multi-scale architecture of fault/fracture: application on fractured geothermal reservoirs

Rodrigo Pérez

rodrigo.frpm@gmail.com

Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

(Español) Silvina Slagter

(Español) silvina.slagter@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

Aldo Anselmo

(Español) aldo.anselmo@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

(Español) Romina Gallardo

(Español) romina.gallardot@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

(Español) Andrés Ignacio Rojas

(Español) andres.rojas.i@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante Magíster en Ciencias (Geología) Universidad de Chile

Samuel Lepe

Laboratory

Sofía Otero

sotero@ing.uchile.cl

Outreach

Verónica Rodríguez

vrodriguezarias@ing.uchile.cl

Laboratory

Karin Rojas

krojashueniqueo@ing.uchile.cl

Administration

Bernardette Vásquez

bvasquez@ing.uchile.cl

Administration

Erika Rojas

(Español) erojasmaureira@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Laboratorio

(Español) Luz Fariña

(Español) lfarina@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Comunicaciones